Recent flooding in our region has caused tremendous devastation for individuals and their communities. At King of Kings, we believe lives are transformed when we connect with the world through serving those in need. If you’re looking for ways to connect and serve those in our community affected by this tragedy, check out the list below for ways you can get involved.

Serve Opportunities

King of Kings and Hand of Hope have partnered to help families affected by recent flooding. Check out these upcoming serve opportunities:

Spring

Pacific Junction

King of Kings and Hand of Hope are committed to their partnership with the community of Pacific Junction.  We are excited to continue the work that we began in 2019.  We need many volunteers with many gifts to make this happen.  Not only are we rebuilding homes in Pacific Junction, we are rebuilding hope in these families lives.  Everyone can make a difference.  If you are interested in learning how you can get involved, contact Jon at handofhopeomaha@gmail.com to learn more.

 

2020 Pacific Junction Schedule 
Friday, January 31 • 12pm-5pm
Saturday, February 1 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, February 7 • 12pm-5pm
Saturday, February 8 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, February 21 • 12pm-5pm
Saturday, February 22 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, February 28 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
Saturday, February 29 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
Friday, March 6 • 12pm-7pm [snacks at 4:30pm]
Saturday, March 7 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, March 20 • 12pm-7pm [snacks at 4:30pm]
Saturday, March 21 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, March 27 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
Saturday, March 28 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
 
Friday, April 17 • 12pm-7pm [snacks at 4:30pm]
Saturday, April 18 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]
 
Friday, April 24 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
Saturday, April 25 • Hand of Hope Sioux City Team
 
Friday, May 1 • 12pm-7pm [snacks at 4:30pm]
Saturday, May 2 • 8am-5pm [meal at noon – will need provider]

 

By Monday 1/27, please indicate the weekends through February that you would be able to assist in Pacific Junction.  If you need to wait until closer to the extended dates to let us know, that works too.  Please just let us know at least a week in advance by emailing Jon at handofhopeomaha@gmail.com.
 

August & September

Hanson Lakes

Thank you to everyone who served at the Hanson Lake home in July and August. We were able to meet the milestones of completing the sheetrock on the walls and ceiling, as well as installing new windows. As we continue to finish the home at Hanson Lake, we will also begin planning for our work in Pacific Junction.  This community was completely devastated by the floods and many are just now looking at if they can rebuild. Hand of Hope is partnering with the city council, other local agencies, and King of Kings to rebuild homes in Pacific Junction.  We will have opportunities to serve on Sunday, September 29 during CityServe, as well as throughout the upcoming months. We will let you know of opportunities as they become available.

If you’d like to be notified of upcoming trips and serve opportunities to help those affected, sign up below.

Financial Donations

To date, we’ve collected $40,000 that will go towards flood relief efforts. Please prayerfully consider how you can continue to give generously towards this fund.

Serve

If you’d like to serve on the ground with clean up efforts, please fill out the form below and we’ll be in touch as soon as we have more details from our partners on how we can best support and serve those affected.

Need Help?

If you or a family member have been affected by flooding and anticipate needing help, please reach out to us. We know you may not yet fully know what you need — that’s okay. We’re here to help however and whenever we can. Simply fill out the form below and we’ll be in touch.